I'm playing a SF game this week-end and it will use stunning pistols... So I looked at the Stunning and Subduing rule, page 232 of the Big Golden Book (second edition). But I'm not sure to understand it well. I made a quick research on this forum and all what I found was an old discussion about the edition 0. So, here I am... If this has already been discussed somewhere else, don't hesitate to give me the link.
As far as I understand things, stunning weapons (the stunning pistol, for instance: Pistol, stun, page 256) don't do any damage. You still roll the damage dice normally (2d6 in this example) and make a resistance roll vs. the current target's HP. If the damage win, the target is stunned for a number of rounds equal to the "damage" rolled.
And now, my question: do you subtract the damage from the target's HP before making the resistance roll or do you use the current target's HP without any subtraction?
It will be more clear with an example.
The hero shoot a bad guy with his stunner pistol. The bad guy is in full shape, with 12 HP. The Hero's player then roll two dice and scores a 7 (average result). How to handle the resistance roll? Is it...
- 7 vs. 12 (only 25% chance to stun the bad guy for 7 rounds)?
- or 7 vs. 12 - 7 = 5 (60% chance to stun the bad guy for 7 rounds)?
The rules sound to incline in favour of the 1st answer... But it doesn't make stunning pistol as effective as they are supposed to be in movies and SF stories.