Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sudden Magic confusion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Frinton On Sea, England.
    Posts
    50
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Default Sudden Magic confusion

    Hi all

    I've just stumbled across a line in the BGB that I hadn't previously noticed and I wanted some views; this may well have been covered in an earlier thread so apologies if that's the case.

    Pg 89 Overcoming POW;

    "Any time a magic spell affects a living target the caster must overcome the target's POW or power points in a resistance roll. Each spell description will designate which value is used".

    If a Blast spell is used against a living target does this mean a resistance roll is required? If so, looking at the text the target is also entitled to a Dodge as well. In the description for the spell no mention is made of a resistance roll, either POW or points so does it not apply?

    That would make a total of three seperate rolls for a Blast which seems a little excessive.

    The wording of some of the rules is the BGB has given me problems in the past so any clarification is gratefully received.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    44
    Downloads
    40
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    It's a question of semantics. In this case "affect" is used to mean "acts directly upon without an intermediary effect" rather than simply "has an effect upon". Blast therefore does not require a resistance roll because its effect is a result of an intermediary - a ruinous beam of magic. The spell Change, however, does require a roll because it acts directly upon the victim without any intermediary.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sonthofen, Germany
    Posts
    2,505
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Camillus View Post
    It's a question of semantics. In this case "affect" is used to mean "acts directly upon without an intermediary effect" rather than simply "has an effect upon". Blast therefore does not require a resistance roll because its effect is a result of an intermediary - a ruinous beam of magic. The spell Change, however, does require a roll because it acts directly upon the victim without any intermediary.
    Yep, this is how I handle it, too - the Blast spell's beam of energy does not
    have any POW to overcome a target's POW with.
    "Mind like parachute, function only when open."
    (Charlie Chan)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Frinton On Sea, England.
    Posts
    50
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks, guys.

    That is pretty much how I've been running it up to now as well. What you've provided me with is a reason as to why.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •